Book Review: The Berenstain Bears God Bless Our Country

godblessourcountry The Berenstain Bears are books that I grew up with and I was happy to get to read a book written by the original author’s son.  In this book, the Bears are celebrating the Fourth Of July – and the kids are learning about America’s birthday and what it means to be proud of your country.  The book shows how the family and their town celebrate the fourth of july.  There are great illustrations throughout the book and of course lots of red, white and blue!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About the Book

A new addition to the bestselling Berenstain Bears’ Living Lights series that teaches simple Christian truths to children.

In the newest Berenstain Bear Living Lights 8×8 title, the glorious Fourth of July has arrived and the Bear family is busy decorating with flags and bunting. Brother, Sister and Honey are just waiting for the big parade and all the fireworks and aren’t really thinking about the true meaning of the day.

But Mama and Papa make sure the cubs know just how much Bear Country is blessed with a quick lesson about the first Fourth of July.

Features 12 full-color stickers.

About the Author

Mike Berenstain grew up watching his parents, Stan and Jan, working together to write and draw these lovable bears. Eventually he started drawing and writing about them too.


Book Review: Oliver & Jumpy Stories 13-15

Oliver and Jumpy, Stories 13-15 (Oliver and Jumpy, the cat series)Oliver and Jumpy stories 13-15 consists of Baby Sitting, Good Deed Day and Magic. I had previously read stories 1-3. Oliver is an elegant tomcat and Jumpy is his best friend. They are always looking for new adventures.

Story 13: Baby Sitting

Oliver is baby sitting the Bears little bear, Bearly. They play hide and seek. At first, Bearly is using his same old hiding spots and Oliver has no trouble finding him. But on round 2 of the game, Oliver cannot find Bearly. Bearly fell in a hole in a tree and couldn’t get out. Rubber, the snake helped them get him out of the hole and Bearly had a bath and Oliver decided to not tell his parents what happened.

Story 14: Good Deed Day

Stripy is Oliver’s friend who lost her newborn baby. Oliver asks Mrs. Piggy to give one of her piglets to Stripy for her to look after to make her feel better. Stripy taught the piglets to hunt. Then Mr. Tiger came home and wanted to eat them! Then Stripy found out she was expecting another baby!

Story 15: Magic

Jumpy’s son Joey is going to learn magic, and Oliver and Jumpy tag along on a trip to the castle to meet the wizard. Oliver jumped out a window and was able to fly with the magic wand.

I still find these books to be a bit different and I’m not sure they’re really appropriate for all kids. (Jumping out windows, the guy answering the door at the castle calling them “dummies”) but I do love the illustrations. If you have small kids you might want to read the books first to see if they are appropriate for your child.  They are often listed for free on Amazon for you to buy.


About the Book

These illustrated cat stories are all about “Oliver and Jumpy”, who are best of friends and experience many adventures together. Oliver is an elegant black tomcat, who is full of himself. As a matter of fact he says: “I love myself!” quite often. Naughty, isn’t he? But his best friend Jumpy, a kangaroo lady, is aware that it is only a front! Oliver has a soft heart and will always want to help others. The great thing is Jumpy’s pouch, which Oliver loves to ride in! He calls her his kangaroo taxi! These little bedtime stories with their lovely illustrations are great for small kids. A parent can read the text and tell the child in his own words. These animal stories have sufficient text to keep early readers happy and provide some educational value. Depending on your device, there is pop-up text (at Amazon) or audio available. Several talented illustrators are essential to bring these children’s stories to you in quick succession. Love you all! Meow! Check out the Free INTRODUCTION TO THE SERIES to see how beautiful the illustrations are! Story 13: Baby Sitting – Oliver has problems with baby sitting. Story 14: Good Deed Day – Oliver helps a fellow cat to become happy again. Story 15: Magic – Our team is getting magic lessons.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :