Book Review: Dead Girls Society

deadgirlsEvery now and then I need to take a step away from the romance novels and dive into a YA or Children’s Fiction book.  Dead Girls Society was that book for me recently and it did not disappoint.  Even though I keep saying that I should not judge a book by its cover, I was intrigued by the wax seal on the front cover as that is my latest craft obsession that I am trying to figure out how to work into my scrapbook pages.  Fortunately for me, I did not end up with a bad book with a good cover – but rather a great book with a good cover.

The book is a little bit reminiscent of Pretty Little Liars, which is one of my favorite TV shows.  Hope has been stuck at home with an illness (CF) and is being babied by her Mom and her best friend, Ethan (who she maybe kinda sorta might have a crush on).  She is living in New Orleans and is bored with that, too.  Then an invitation arrives from “The Society” inviting her to come and play a game in which she could win quite a sum of money.  Enough money so that her Mom won’t have to worry about their piling medical debt for a while.

She sneaks out of the house and meets up with several other girls and they have to do dangerous tasks in order to win.  After a couple of tasks, the society seems to think that Hope is cheating so more bad things happen to her to teach her a lesson.  When things start going bad and it seems she has no way out, Hope tries to figure out who it is behind The Society.  Is she on the right track? Can she stop whoever it is before she is in too deep?

I received a free e-copy of this book in order to write this review. I was not otherwise compensated.

About the Book
A slick thriller from the author of HEXED, perfect for fans of THE CELLAR by Natasha Preston and PANIC by Lauren Oliver.

You are cordially invited to participate in a game of thrills and dares. Tell no one, and come alone. If you dare.

Hope is sick of everyone treating her like she’s breakable. Sure, she has cystic fibrosis (basically really bad lungs), but she’s tired of being babied by her mom and her overprotective best friend, Ethan, not to mention worrying about paying for her expensive medication and how she’s going to afford college.And she’s bored with life in her run-down New Orleans suburb.

When an invitation arrives from a mysterious group that calls itself the Society, Hope jumps at the chance for some excitement. This could be her ticket out. All she has to do is complete a few dares and she just might win some real money.
But the Society isn’t all that it seems . . . and soon Hope finds that playing the game isn’t a choice—it’s a requirement.

Category: Book Review
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.