Book Review: Facing the Music

facingFacing the Music is about Ivy Hudon, pop princess who wrote a song about her highschool sweetheart turned cheating ex called “Size Matters”, word got out who it was about and Blake was not happy.  Everything has seemingly been going pretty well for Blake and Ivy since – aside from Blake’s NFL career coming to an end and him becoming the coach at the high school.  Ivy is out in LA living the rockstar dream.

When Ivy’s hometown is hit by a tornado, Blake’s grandmother suggest that Ivy head home for a charity concert.  At first Blake still seems bitter and doesn’t want anything to do with Ivy, but then he seems to be falling for her all over again. Has Ivy moved on or is she still interested too?

The two end up going as dates to the “prom” as part of the charity fundraisers and then it seems like they are back together.  That is, until Ivy catches Blake with another woman – AGAIN!

Can he be forgiven again? Especially after Ivy has just debuted a new song about how much she loves him?

I thought this book was a bit cheesy and predictable. It was an easy read and not the worst book I’ve ever read but if it was something that I had picked up to read just for fun instead of reviewing it I probably would have ditched it after a couple of chapters. If you don’t read nearly as many books as I do then you may enjoy it more because you’re not jaded by the same ol’ same ol’.  There are more books coming about Rosewood, so we’ll see if I decide to give them another chance.

I received a free e-copy of this book in order to write this review. I was not otherwise compensated.

About the Book

In this sizzling and hilarious contemporary e-book romance, pop sensation Ivy Hudson returns to her small town to face her ex. Only trouble is, she made her Taylor-Swift-like career with the hit song “Size Matters”—and the football hero has had to live it down ever since.

Five years ago, high school sweethearts Ivy and Blake’s relationship imploded and both their lives were changed forever. Ivy became a rock star and Blake lost not only his dreams of a successful NFL career, but his reputation. Ivy’s angry song about their breakup, called “Size Matters,” hit the top of the charts and Blake became a national laughingstock. He’s salvaged his career and returned to Rosewood to be the high school football coach, regaining his status as town hero and leading the boys to the state championships.

When a tornado whips through town and destroys the high school gymnasium and stadium, a committee is formed to help rebuild and plan some charity fundraisers. Blake’s grandmother requests that Ivy return to Rosewood for the events. Forced back together for the good of their hometown and their careers, Ivy and Blake have no choice but to put aside their differences, stop running from their pasts, and finally face the music.

For fans of Kristen Proby and Colette Auclair, Facing the Music hits a perfect balance between small-town romance and big-time success. Follow Ivy and Blake as they fall back in love and figure out what does matter in the end…

Category: Book Review
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.