Book Review: Shape of My Heart

Shape Of My Heart is the 3rd book in the Heartthrob series. Unfortunately I missed out on Book #2, but did read All I Ever Wanted earlier this year. I didn’t really miss out on too much by skipping book #2, as each book focuses on a different one of the Heart brothers and his love life.  This one focused on Jimmy.  The book starts with Jimmy outside on his balcony trying to write a song while his neighbor Maggie’s dog will not stop barking interrupting his train of thought.  He ends up throwing a pretzel at the dog in an effort to shut it up, which set Maggie off as the dog was not to ever have people food!  Jimmy asks for a few treats in an effort to win the dog over – and as you can probably guess – he starts to win Maggie over as well.

Maggie is well aware of who Jimmy is – she had quite a crush on him during Heartbeat’s hey day but is trying to play it cool like she has no idea he is a famous pop star.  The chapters alternate between Jimmy and Maggie telling the story from their point of view, which I really like because you can kind of get into each of their heads and see where they are at in the relationship.  It took a while, but Jimmy finally gets Maggie to cave and have dinner with him… and things progress from there.

I really enjoy this series and am kind of bummed I missed out on Book #2 and #4 on NetGalley 🙁  I’ll have to see about finding It’s Gotta Be You and As Long As You Love Me on Amazon!

I received a free e-copy of this book in order to write this review, I was not otherwise compensated.

About the Book

The USA TODAY bestselling author of the Cricket Creek series returns with this third title in her fun and flirty Heartthrob series, following the quiet songwriter of the Heart brothers as he meets a feisty young adult author who may just be his match.

Meet the Heart Brothers: formerly the members of the cult-phenomenon boy band Heartbeat, now they’re all grown up and back together for one last reunion tour. Trends may come and go, but a group of sexy brothers with a penchant for song and dance never goes out of style…

Jimmy Heart, affectionately known as the quiet one of the group, was never completely comfortable on stage. He prefers writing songs on his balcony in his high-rise condo overlooking the sea. But when a noisy neighbor moves in next door, Jimmy’s muse goes on strike, leaving him no other choice but to confront Maggie Murphy and her little dog, too.

But the sassy author of empowering novels for teen girls refuses to pipe down, creating an ongoing battle along with an underlying sizzling attraction they both can’t deny. And when Jimmy learns that feisty Maggie has gone through emotional turmoil as a teen, he’s touched by her bravery and he vows to show her the depth of his unconditional love.

With her “rich and unique voice” (Romance Junkies), LuAnn McLane crafts another sweet and spirited novel that is perfect for fans of Anna Todd and Katy Evans.

Category: Book Review
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.